Potting Shed: Nesting & Window Dressing

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

I’m busy Nesting~

Dressing Windows in my Potting Shed!

You can see how she’s grown, here.

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

I’m waiting on a roof and a gable vent to be installed in the next week~ it’s WARM inside :) but I couldn’t resist a little window dressing and to start nesting. . .

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

I picked up shelf brackets from Lowe’s

and drapery rods supplied by Mother Nature~

tied together with twine,

and then secured with twine to the bracket.

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

A roll of landscaping burlap also came from Lowe’s

to dress & drape~ one roll of burlap fabric,

3 feet x 24 feet, was $9.78.

This landscaping burlap has an open weave and is much lighter in weight than regular burlap~ so I didn’t have to worry about the weight on my branch drapery rods.

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

I  have used a roll of this before for various projects and on a table on the porch before, here.

When I opened this roll to cut it in half, I discovered it had a wide, unsightly seam about 3/4 of way down the roll and too large to try to camouflage. I cut the seam out and tied the pieces back together that would drape one window.

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

The tied & hanging ends seemed like the

perfect spot to tuck a nest, along with

a few twigs and oak leaves.
Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

My plywood counters for work areas under the windows

 are at a sheet metal shop and being covered this week.

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

My Potting Shed is

quickly becoming a Nest~

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

Nesting pillow | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

More nest feathering, twig-by-twig to come :)

Window dressing for the Potting Shed with landscape burlap, twig rods and bird nest | ©homeiswheretheboatis.net #pottingshed #gardenshed #windows #nest #burlap

Thank you for your visit, sharing with:

 Metamorphosis Monday

  42 comments for “Potting Shed: Nesting & Window Dressing

  1. Debbie@Mountain Breaths
    September 10, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Mary, I know you will spend many happy hours puttering around in your potting shed. Love all your personal touches. Just add a nature CD :-)

  2. Happier Than A Pig in Mud
    September 10, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Just beautiful! I love the draped burlap! Bet the counters look amazing when they come back-enjoy:@)

  3. September 10, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Oh, Mary! I love the little nest theme you have going on in your potting shed. So adorable!

  4. September 10, 2012 at 6:39 am

    Mary, Your curtain rods and darling curtains are Brilliant and beautiful! I love the next theme you have going on in your potting shed! I can’t wait to see the plywood table top when it comes back from the sheet metal shop!
    What a sweet “second home” to play with your plants! Why do I want to copy everything you do!!! xo

  5. September 10, 2012 at 7:02 am

    That’s not really a potting shed. You just said it was as excuse to have your own dolls’ house ;)
    Looks wonderful. Whimsical to say the least and you’re so talented.
    Thank you for sharing and Enjoy!!!

  6. Debbie
    September 10, 2012 at 7:20 am

    How cute!!! :)

  7. Mary from Virginia
    September 10, 2012 at 7:27 am

    This is just the CUTEST and most clever idea!! I feel as if I should get out in my potting shed and spruce it up. I just might have to copy you!

  8. September 10, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Your little gem is adorable..I love mine also..but we left the inside rough..and it stores tools and tractor and mower..nothing really cute inside:)
    Uncanny..I have stained glass too..
    This is adorable..Perfect spot for you to store your treasures..

  9. September 10, 2012 at 8:41 am

    I’m telling ya, the gardening magazines are going to be knocking at your door. Not only is the exterior of your shed gorgeous, so is the inside!

  10. September 10, 2012 at 8:46 am

    the landscaping burlap is genius! Can’t wait to get some for a fall tablescape!

  11. September 10, 2012 at 9:22 am

    OK…now I can see a run on that landscape burlap at Lowes….fabulous idea…Mary, I could move into your potting shed…I am so in love with it!!!
    Dear Santa…I want a garden “cottage” (too pretty to call it a shed) for Christmas!!

  12. Susan
    September 10, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Beautiful!!! I can’t wait to see your finished project!!

  13. September 10, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Your potting shed is so cute! I love the open weave of the landscape burlap. You are a genius! Stopping by from Between Naps On The Porch.

  14. September 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Mary, oh what you can do here and these curtains are brilliant. Olive

  15. deb
    September 10, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous! I want to move into your potting shed!!! LOL
    You did an amazing job!
    *hugs*deb

  16. September 10, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Ok, that does it, I want a potting shed too. It is too beautiful to be called a shed though! I am running to Lowes to get some landscape burlap!!!!!!!!! I didn’t know about that. I am happy to hear it is softer then regular I have an idea swimming around in my head now for the new house!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are SUCH an inspiration. XO, Pinky

  17. September 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I agree with everyone who said before me that this is just too cute to be a potting shed…Mary, you have such a wonderful talent to turn anything into a little gem.

    I have been collecting nests for a while and now have 5. Not sure what I will do with them yet.

  18. Pat
    September 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Mary,
    These are adorable for the Nest Feathering in your Potting Shed! Just came from Lowe’s…looks like I’ll be going back for Burlap soon! Thanks for the tip!!!
    Fondly,
    Pat

  19. September 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    What an adorable potting cottage! I love the branches and burlap fabric window treatment, looks pretty enough for an inside room, too! xo

  20. September 10, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Perfect choice for window dressings, I just love it!

  21. September 11, 2012 at 8:01 am

    What wonderful window coverings! Love how you use the landscaper’s burlap and all of nature’s additions. What a special little place.

    – The Tablescaper

  22. Julie Harris
    September 11, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    You are so creative. I love, love the the window dressing made of the twigs and burlap! Your blog is such a happy place to be. And I also appreciate where you find these items and I am able to click on the site. Some months ago I purchased a tablecloth and napkins that went perfectly with my new dishes because you had them on you blog display with a link to find it/purchase it. Thank you! Again…your creativity is joyful.

    Julie H from Michigan

  23. September 12, 2012 at 9:00 am

    Wow, what an amazing job you have done with the decorating. I could really use your help at my house with window dressing. I truly have no idea what to do with the giant window in the Master bedroom.

  24. casteb
    September 12, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Mary, this is beyond charming! You are never going to want to leave this space. I never thought about using garden burlap, but how great for some outdoor decor ideas I have flipping around in my brain! Thanks so much for sharing your great space!

  25. Honey Pace
    September 13, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    What a lovley place to putter around in … your ideas are wonderful and fun … color me green

  26. Ann
    September 15, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    The potting shed is a winner. The window treatment is just perfect. I too want to find some of that landscaping fabric for my burlap wreaths. Looks like you could spend some great time reading out there.
    Ann

  27. September 15, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Mary, I was in Dallas visiting a friend and obviously missed this one on Monday. It looks charming, and I know you are having fun with every detail. I’ve used the garden burlap for table vignettes and also tied to the backs of chairs. Using it for the window treatments with the twigs is genius.
    I agree with someone’s comment above, this is a cottage, not a shed. ;-)
    Enjoy the process………..Sarah

  28. September 15, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Such a unique window treatment. Great little cottage and your touches are magical.

  29. September 16, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Hi Mary, I think you are actually creating a little guest cottage here! The burlap idea is wonderful. I’m definitely going to pick up some too. Your curtains are truly perfect for the windows! Can’t wait to see more! Linda

  30. September 16, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Absolutely charming and I hope that you won’t mind if I borrow this idea for my own potting shed!

    Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  31. September 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    oh how wonderful to have that great potting shed. it’s just wonderful, and the window dressing is just perfect! Love it, and I’m pinning it right now. thanks so much for joining in for Vintage Inspiration!

  32. September 16, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    How fun!! Love the window dressing! Cutest potting shed I’ve ever seen!!

  33. September 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Your potting shed is just too gorgeous – your window dressing is inspired! I will be featuring your post in this week’s Home and Garden Thursday. I appreciate you sharing,
    Kathy

  34. September 20, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    Oh goodness…such a special haven. A potting shed is on my bucket list! Absolutely beautiful, Mary!

  35. September 20, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Your potting shed is adorable!

  36. September 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    This is simply the best. I just love the little nest so much. Awesome job my dear. This is such an awesome post. I would love it if you would share this post at our WIW linky party. Hope you can join us. :-)

    Paula
    ivyandelephants.blogspot.com

  37. September 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    What an adorable potting shed! I’ve always wanted one,lucky you! I love your twiggy valance, the bird’s nest is the perfect addition! And all of your other wonderful accessories are great, too!

  38. September 21, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    So inviting. Would love to come over and have tea and scones with you in your potting shed.

Comments are closed.

Discover more from Home is Where the Boat Is

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Discover more from Home is Where the Boat Is

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading